a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Burden of the Soul sequel to come

I can’t thank you all enough for being so supportive and patient as I work on the sequel(s) to Burden of the Soul. I’ve gotten some comments here, posts on Facebook and questions lately about when the next book will release, so I wanted to take a second and give an update.

I had set a release of late 2012 as my goal and worked on the sequel to meet that deadline, but as I was writing I was less and less satisfied with the story. I put it aside for a bit to address why I was having such trouble with this one when the first seemed to jump out of my finger tips and stick the landing. I realized that the problem was with me… I was writing passively. I was unsure, and so these characters became unsure as well. And then I became fearful of failure.

As a writer, the goal of constantly improving never gets shelved. I have read each and every review, post and email the Burden of the Soul readers have put out into the world and taken each opinion to heart in hopes of making the series better. When I took a step back from writing Book 2 to get to the core of the problem, I realized just how fearful I was of failing and how distracted and disconnected from the characters I became because of it. So I change stuff of. I changed my process. I changed my perspective. I changed my attitude. Since changing it up and approaching the rewrite I am charged again. At the risk of linguistically dating myself, I am completely STOKED about these characters, this story and the direction.

With all of that said, I need to give you all an official apology and humbly ask for your patience for just a bit longer. The next book will release by Spring 2013 and the third late Fall 2013. I’m writing straight through to ensure you all never have to wait this long again.

Burden of the Soul was not just my first book, but also my first step into publishing. I learned a ton and a lot of that came from you guys. When the sequel(s) release they will be top shelf because of all you’ve helped me learn. As a thank you (and an attempt to buy your forgiveness), a new edition of Burden of the Soul (Book 1) with bonus chapters will release near the holidays in December. This edition will be completely free for download until the release of Book 2.

I am so sorry I wasn’t able to make the deadline of this year, but I promise all of you this extra time will make not only for a better sequel, it will make for a better series and I have all of you to thank for that. So thank you! Thank you for sending the emails, posting reviews and sharing the book with friends. Thank you for helping to mold me as a writer.

As always you can shoot me an email, post on Facebook, comment here or find me on Goodreadsif you have any questions or want to chew me out. I welcome all of it!

13 comments on “Burden of the Soul sequel to come

  1. Becca
    March 25, 2013

    I was just wondering when book two will be released?

    • Kate Grace
      March 25, 2013

      It’s looking like late May for the eBook, early June for the paperback. We’re working like crazy on it and we are really excited about this one!

  2. Lucy
    October 20, 2013

    When will book 2 be out???

    • Kate Grace
      October 29, 2013

      Hey Lucy, It’ll be early 2014. No specific date set yet, but we’re shooting for mid-February. Subscribe to this blog or like us on Facebook to get notifications about the release date. In the meantime, spread the word about Book 1!

  3. RoseMarino
    November 5, 2013

    I’m confused! This little blip says that the second was coming out spring 2013 and the third fall 2013?! I don’t know how I missed them both!! :( Where can I find them! I feel so dumb bc I have been waiting forever and here I was looking in the wrong places apparently! Lol. Can you fill me in?? Looove your writing!!

    • Kate Grace
      November 6, 2013

      Hey Rose! First, thank you so much for the compliment. And I truly apologize for the confusion. Book 2 actually hasn’t released yet (I’m aiming for February ’14). This past year has thrown me a great number of hiccups (understatement). You can read about that here if you like. When we have an official date I will post like crazy, I promise! I do anticipate the next two books out next year so long as the universe plays nice.

  4. BaileyCheyenne
    November 14, 2013

    I loved book number one, I downloaded the ebook. I read every single page in less than a day I wasn’t even real sure I would actually enjoy it due to the fact its not my type of novel, but you have a gift for writting it was exsquisite!!! I am so excited for the next two books you have my vote I’ll deffinately be lending the book and telling all of my book worm friends! It was perfect thank you so much!!!!

    • Kate Grace
      November 14, 2013

      Thank you so much, Bailey! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I can’t tell you how much word of mouth, lending to friends and reviews on book sites help independent authors. You’re my hero right now!

  5. BRH
    February 4, 2014

    Hey here I am posting again but will book two be out this month?
    Thank-Bella

    • Kate Grace
      February 4, 2014

      Not this month. It’s currently in the editing phase. It’s looking like sometime in Spring.

  6. BRH
    February 8, 2014

    Neat well thank you for answering I can’t wait till spring :)

  7. Lisa
    July 14, 2014

    I really enjoyed your first book!!!!!!!! So now I’m wondering when the second one will come out?

    • Kate Grace
      July 14, 2014

      Thanks, Lisa! The whole series is in the works right now. Check out http://www.kategracewrites.com and subscribe for email alerts for release dates. Also… I LOVE your email address! I cracked up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

