a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

So where is Book 2?

I can see those Google searches and I’ve read all the messages or emails you guys have sent (and responded to all, I believe). There’s been tweets. There’s been Facebook messages, and I have to say I am overwhelmed by how excited all of you are for Book 2.

So I owe you all a pretty massive apology as it’s now June 2 and Book 2 isn’t out yet, as I had promised it would be. I owe you an apology (I am very sorry) and as much as an explanation as I am able to give.

Releasing a book, or any creative work, has a ton of back end to it and all of that back end costs quite a bit of money. I am my own publisher, so there is no financial backing for the Burden Series beyond my personal checking account. The number of downloads for Book 1 is absolutely staggering, just mind-blowing. But in an effort to get it in the hands of more people we decided to make it free. It worked for sure (HELLO, GREAT BRITAIN!), but it does mean that it didn’t make money and at the time I could not foresee the events 2013, particularly these last few months, had in store for me.

These last few months in my personal life have been, quite possibly, the most difficult I have ever encountered. I’ve heard this from a lot of people lately, so maybe you’re rowing a similar boat right along with me. Without going into details of the how, why or whatever – which only leaves me shaking my fists right now and that’s not getting me anywhere – suffice it to say my home is gone, my job is gone and any funding I had set aside for Book 2 is, right now, gone. But hey… Maddie’s still around!

It breaks my heart to let you guys down in this way, but unfortunately the final stages of production Book 2 requires at this point all require money. It will happen, and I’m fighting like hell to get back up on my feet in general so this release can get back up on its feet as well. It will happen, as soon as I am able.

I can’t thank you guys enough for all of your support and understanding. It means the world to me, and is a huge part of why I’m still fighting rather than giving up and wallowing in a sea of One Tree Hill episodes (though there have been a lot of those lately).

Sometimes life sweeps you off your feet. Sometimes in a good way. Sometimes in a way that knocks the wind right out of ya. That’s where I am right now. But I’ll get back up. That I can promise.

7 comments on “So where is Book 2?

  1. Gina
    August 20, 2013

    Just finished reading book one and started frantically looking for book 2. But having read up on all your posts, I do hope things are starting to look up for you. I’m in love with the story and the characters and can’t wait to hear what happens next. Just wanted you to know that I’m definitley a fan and we’re all impatiently waiting for the next book ;) lol

  2. emily
    November 18, 2013

    Hi, i really loved book one, thought it was well written with a good plot. I’m eager for book 2 but understand hiw life can twist. I’ve also had the wind taken out of my sails, such is life at times. My question is why can’t you charge for your book 2? I went looking for it, expecting to pay, and would certainly download it even if there were a fee. You have a great style and book one was a good read

    • Kate Grace
      November 18, 2013

      Thank you so much, Emily! Part of the problem is the money it takes to get an editor and cover and design… BUT! The good news is we’re finding some creative life hack solutions for all of this. We’ll be keeping you updated and rest assured Book 2 and 3 are coming in 2014.

      In the meantime, let your friends know about Book 1 and post reviews for others to see. Every bit of it helps more than you can imagine.

  3. LeeAnn
    November 20, 2013

    just finished the first one and as a writer i completely understand where your coming from. Inspiration… easy, completion… dedication, publish… bankrupt. i can’t wait to read the second one! i know you’ll get there!

  4. Maria Dyson
    March 7, 2014

    Just finished Burden of the soul, and wow Kate. Thank you for a wonderful book, I found it very hard putting down my Kindle. I was swept away in a timeless and enchanting world. I really can not wait for the second book, you are most defiantly my number one author. Your book was just amazing and I felt the same emotions as the characters in your story. Thank you so much for letting me share your amazing talent,

    • Kate Grace
      March 7, 2014

      Thank you so much, Maria! And thank you so much for letting your friends on Facebook know about it. It’s a HUGE help!

  5. Maria Dyson
    March 7, 2014

    Just told my friends on Facebook Kate…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

