a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Meet the Peas Interview Series: Kelsey Ketch

Pod: noun

      1. An elongated vessel, as in bean or pea

      2. A protective compartment

Breepod: noun

      1. Literary Agent Bree Ogden’s client list, as nicknamed by said client list.

The Meet the Peas interview series is intended to give readers a closer look at the personality that makes up Bree Ogden’s Client List. And let’s be real for a second, this group is bursting at the seams with personality.

So first up, author of Historical Young Adult Novel, Death’s Island Kelsey Ketch

What was your most embarrassing moment either as a child or adult?

 
Alright, well, I was doing a presentation in my Public Speaking course on Pirate Women. I created a great slide show: music, pictures, the works! I practiced and practiced, making sure it was perfect.

I got to class and decided I would be the first to volunteer. I tested the speakers, I tested the screen, trying to make sure nothing could go wrong. Everything was set. All I had to do was push the button to start the music and the slide show.

I started. The music played just as it should. I started my introduction and right in the middle a student walks in LATE! Since the door was right next to me, I was completely thrown off. I missed my entrance and I shook throughout the rest of my speech, thinking only of that mess up.

In the end, though, my teacher still gave me props and luckily a good grade, but I still wanted to bury my head in the sand.


When was your first date and/or kiss?

 Sorry – I don’t kiss and tell. ; ).

Following the “Breakfast Club” rules to sweeping generalization stereotypes, what kind of teenager were you?

 I am the Diverse Geek. I was buried in my school work, a history buff (still am), a national honors student, read during lunch, sketched for art class, and wrote in my journals. Yet, I had friends that were drama students, science students, artists, math students, and athletes. 

Guilty Pleasures: Song? Movie? TV Show?

Favorite song I listen to most often is Paperback Writer by the Beetles, especially when I was querying agents. Lol.

My favorite movie is one my father introduced me to, Cutthroat Island with Geena Davis. I love Captain Morgan Adam (Geena Davis). She’s a quick thinker when danger is on the horizon, and isn’t afraid to push the limits. When it comes to her wit, her mouth is faster than her blade. She fights with style and flare, showing the power and elegance of a woman.  Her life is an adventure. Then there is Dawg (Frank Langella), my favorite villain. He is cruel and terrifying, but he also has a dark humor to his character.

My favorite TV show is Castle on ABC. I love Rick Castle, a crime solving novelist! He’s handsome and witty, my kind of character. And Kate Beckett is his perfect match.


Describe the best meal you ever had:

My mum’s meatloaf. She places cheese, ketchup, mushrooms, and onion in the center and wraps the ground meat around the ingredients. Yum! And she usually serves it with a side of asparagus and red potatoes.

What’s something on your Bucket List you haven’t tried yet? Why is it on the List? Why haven’t you tried it?

Traveling all of the United Kingdom and Ireland. I was able to visit southern England and it was beautiful, it almost felt like my second home. I felt so comfortable there. But, I want to see more than just southern England. I want the full experience. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time or the funding right now to make this dream come true.

Also, I want to run my own tavern, but this is way in the future – when I’m ready to settle down.

What’s a story about you your Mother always tells?

Well, it’s not completely about me, but about my cat. My mum bought me my first real camera as a middle school graduation present. One day it disappeared. Gone! I had no idea where it went. Well, my mum was pretty upset about the whole thing, but several months later she was cleaning behind her waterbed and found my cat with a stash of all types of objects we didn’t realized were missing. One of them was the camera.

My cat stole my camera! Yes, my cat is a little pirate! He even has the black lining around his eyes like Jack Sparrow.

Well, I was off the hook, but objects continued to disappear including a TV remote.

We’re going Actors Studio style now – rapid fire!!!!!!

What is your favorite word?

Love – you can tell that from my comments and blog entries. Love. But, I never use it lightly. Every time I say I ‘love’ something or someone, I mean it. My past has taught me that you can never say this enough.


What is your least favorite word?

No – no is my least favorite word, especially when I hear it. I really don’t think anyone likes to hear it, actually. But, I don’t like the straight answer ‘No’. I need a reason behind it. Even as a child, if someone said ‘No’, the next word out of my mouth was ‘Why?’ and ‘Because I said so’ never passed as a reason. As I’ve grown, I’ve gotten use to the straight answer ‘No’. But, I still prefer to have a reason.  

What turns you on (creatively/spiritually/inspiration)?

Several things can trigger my muse. The most popular are: traveling, music, the beach, tall ships, and history.

What turns you off?

Odors are generally the cause of my mind stopping dead in its tracks. I don’t really know why.

What is your favorite curse word?

Oh, frigate – you would ask that! Lol. Just having some fun. Frigate is my favorite curse word, but it’s not a curse word. It’s actually a tall ship with three to four masts. I just love the sound of it when I’m upset.

What sound or noise do you love?

Waves lapping along the shore or along the side of a ship. It’s so peaceful.

What sound or noise do you hate?

High pitch frequencies. I have very sensitive ears, and those frequencies really hurt.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Archaeology – I think it would be cool to find new discoveries and be out in the field.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God save when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“Took you long enough!”

See Kelsey Tweet. See Kelsey Blog. See what Kelsey was talking about.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2010 by in regular.
