a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Meet the Peas Interview Series: Nikki Katz

Pod: noun

      1. An elongated vessel, as in bean or pea

      2. A protective compartment

Breepod: noun

      1. Literary Agent Bree Ogden’s client list, as nicknamed by said client list.

The Meet the Peas interview series is intended to give readers a closer look at the personality that makes up Bree Ogden’s Client List. And let’s be real for a second, this group is bursting at the seams with personality.

In this installment, we get to know author of the young adult novel, ShorelineNikki Katz.

What was your most embarrassing moment either as a child or adult?

Tough one. I’d have to say it was my sophomore year in high school, during a theater performance for several classes. My costume consisted of a shirt and a skirt that tied at the waist. Unbeknownst to me, my skirt had come untied and you could see the hip of my underwear as I moved around the stage (oh the horror, underwear exposure in front of your peers!) I kept hearing the audience titter about the skirt, and when I finally made it backstage, I realized what had happened. Immediately distraught, I barely made it through the rest of the performance, much less having to face those students the rest of the day!

When was your first kiss?

 
Hmm, do you mean in 3rd grade, on the cheek, after I got chased for having cooties and finally let myself get caught?  Or my freshman year in high school when it was a disgusting mash of lips and tongue and failed expectations?  The first one was far more memorable.

Following the “Breakfast Club” rules to sweeping generalization stereotypes, what kind of teenager were you?
If I can only follow those rules, I have to go with Anthony Michael Hall/Brian Johnson. I was a theater geek in all honors classes, salutatorian of my class and only NOT valedictorian because I got a B in PE 🙂

Guilty Pleasures: Song? Movie? TV Show?
Any and all reality TV shows. I WILL be a contestant on Survivor one day. Mark my words.

Describe the best meal you ever had:
New Years Eve in NYC, 1997 or 1998. My husband (then boyfriend) and I went to a place in Manhattan (we think it was called Arielle’s) and had probably the most expensive meal in our lives!  But that wasn’t what made it the best.  It was the box of chocolate we BOTH got at the end of the meal.  An entire box of delicious chocolates (which was their specialty).  Not only that, we got an amazing chocolate dessert to devour before even opening the box.  Chocolate as my best meal?  But of course 🙂

What’s something on your Bucket List you haven’t tried yet? Why is it on the List? Why haven’t you tried it?
Learn to fly a plane. Because I love flying, my degree is in aerospace engineering, and I just want to darn it! I haven’t done it yet due to time … And finances 🙂

What’s a story about you your Mother always tells?

When I was in fourth grade my mother got a call from my teacher, complaining that I was being disrespectful by laying my head on the desk during class.  She was tired of me finishing my tests and work early, and assumed I’d decided to be rude and ignore her altogether.  Turns out, when I got home, I had a fever of 102.  And I transferred to a new class the next week.

(We’re going Actors Studio style now – rapid fire!!!!!!)

What is your favorite word?In my writing it is apparently “Just”.  In life, probably “Peace” to go along with “Quiet”


What is your least favorite word?
“Why?”

What turns you on (creatively/spiritually/inspiration)?
Silence or a trip to the ocean

What turns you off?
Feet

What is your favorite curse word?
Fuck – purely when I’m pissed off

What sound or noise do you love?
Baby laughs (can you tell I’m a mom?!)

What sound or noise do you hate?
People chewing

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Actress or talk show host

What profession would you not like to do?
Podiatrist (see above)

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God save when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“Finally!”

See Nikki Tweet. See Nikki Blog. See Nikki Lose Her Temper.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2010 by in regular.
