a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Meet the Peas Interview Series: Lisa Rivero

Pod: noun

      1. An elongated vessel, as in bean or pea

      2. A protective compartment

Breepod: noun

      1. Literary Agent Bree Ogden’s client list, as nicknamed by said client list.

The Meet the Peas interview series is intended to give readers a closer look at the personality that makes up Bree Ogden’s Client List. And let’s be real for a second, this group is bursting at the seams with personality.

In today’s installment we get to know the author of Planting Words: My Friend Oscar Micheaux (Middle Grade Historical Fiction) – Lisa Rivero.

What was your most embarrassing moment either as a child or adult?

Only one? Gosh, there were so many. I’ll choose failing my driving test the first time because I learned to drive in the town where my high school was (no stop lights), but took my test in a town with a stop light. I thought the yellow light would last a lot longer than it did.

When was your first date and/or kiss?

First kiss: Ben, basketball player, 9th grade, under a high school stairway. He later scored a 5 (yes, a 5) on his ACT.

Following the “Breakfast Club” rules to sweeping generalization stereotypes, what kind of teenager were you?

I was mostly a “brain,” with some “basket case” and a little wanna-be “Princess” thrown in for good measure. Wasn’t John Hughes amazing?! When he died, I re-watched a lot of his movies with our son.

Guilty Pleasures: Song? Movie? TV Show?

All of Joss Whedon’s television series, anything by Elvis Costello, the original Star Wars trilogy (oh, and the Back to the Future trilogy, too!)

Describe the best meal you ever had:

This one stumps me for some reason. Maybe it’s because I love food so much that it’s hard to choose! I’ll go with a sentimental favorite: When our son was a baby and I was nursing, I could not believe how hungry I was, all the time. Once, only an hour or two after supper, I was starving, and my husband made me an omelet. I can’t even remember what he put it in, only that it was perfect.

What’s something on your Bucket List you haven’t tried yet? Why is it on the List? Why haven’t you tried it?

I would like to learn to draw better. My mother had artistic talent, as does one of my brothers. I loved to draw when I was a child, but I was too scared to take any art classes in high school (also, I was on the “brain” track—see Breakfast Club answer above—and discouraged from taking classes like art). Why haven’t I tried it? Part fear of being really bad, and part laziness.

What’s a story about you your Mother always tells?

I can’t remember my mother telling stories about me. That’s kind of interesting in an of itself. She was a quiet and a private woman, and now that I’m older, I really appreciate how she gave me room and space to be myself, even when she didn’t understand me. She died twelve years ago, and I miss her a lot.

(We’re going Actors Studio style now – rapid fire!!!!!!)

What is your favorite word?
Serendipity

What is your least favorite word?
Suck

What turns you on (creatively/spiritually/inspiration)?
Multiple perspectives

What turns you off?
Gossip

What is your favorite curse word?
Either rats or gosh (I’m such a farm girl at heart)

What sound or noise do you love?
Water flowing 

What sound or noise do you hate?

Sirens

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Chef

What profession would you not like to do?Anything that would mean driving most of the time.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“Where and when would you like to go next?”

See Lisa Tweet. See Lisa Blog. See Lisa Be Evil.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2010 by in regular.
