a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Meet the Peas Interview Series: Ron Rutler

Pod: noun

      1. An elongated vessel, as in bean or pea

      2. A protective compartment

Breepod: noun

      1. Literary Agent Bree Ogden’s client list, as nicknamed by said client list.

The Meet the Peas interview series is intended to give readers a closer look at the personality that makes up Bree Ogden’s Client List. And let’s be real for a second, this group is bursting at the seams with personality.

Next up we have the full-of-personality author of Middle Grade Novel, The Raven in Bermuda Shorts: Ron Rutler.

What was your most embarrassing moment either as a child or adult?

In high school a couple of us quit football before we even played in a single game, and we decided to become yell leaders.  So much for the macho pigskin seasoned prologue that I just sprinkled onto this male yell leader tale.

Now here comes the embarrassing part… One day at a game I’m lifting this really cute cheerleader into the air, and my butt decides that it’s time to let out its own version of a vuvuzela toot. I was hoping no one noticed, BUTT…

When was your first date and/or kiss?

This would sound like a CYA statement if it wasn’t true.  The first kiss with my wife Heather was Kiss-eriffic.

My first, first kiss, was in 7th or 8th grade, I think. My first date, I believe, was holding hands at Fairy Land Amusement Park. Holding hands was a big deal because girls still had cooties back then, you know.

Following the “Breakfast Club” rules to sweeping generalization stereotypes, what kind of teenager were you?

Felt inferior to everyone in the universe, self-conscious, a bit shy, but still managed to land cool parts in our high school productions, play guitar, & sing in rock and roll bands with my friends. Sorry, haven’t seen the “Breakfast Club.”

Guilty Pleasures: Song? Movie? TV Show?

I like the humor of Mel Brooks movies.  And the Blues Brothers movie, cracks this odd duck up. As far as TV goes, I like ”The Closer.”  Favorite channels are the History and Discovery Channels. Music-wise, Beatles, Van Morrison, and all Blues sets my bobble-head in action.

Describe the best meal you ever had:

My dad, and now my brother, make a grrrrreaaat roast and dumplings. The handmade potato dumplings are the size of baseballs and laced with bits of bacon. Smother the roast and the dumpling with gravy, and the MMMMMM’s take over. And my sister’s Sarma is a wonderful New Year’s Day treat.

And I have to tell you that I am not a big fan of meatloaf, but my mother-in-law’s meatloaf is out of this world good. And her rhubarb pie is unbelievable. I’m starting to sound like Eddie Haskell, aren’t I, but hey, it’s true, she is an awesome cook.

Recently I had the Capallini at the Blue River Bistro in Breckenridge, and it was aaaamazzzing-ah!

Sorry about the lengthy answer, but my wife and I just did one of those fruit-and-veggie-only cleansing diets, and I am really aware of food right now.

What’s something on your Bucket List you haven’t tried yet? Why is it on the List? Why haven’t you tried it?

Spend six months in Hawaii and six months in the Colorado Mountains, or longer. I’d also like to visit Bainbridge Island, WA, some day.

I would love to harmonize with Paul McCartney on a Beatles song or two. The man’s music and his voice is still amazing.  I didn’t get to go to his most recent concert here in Kansas City, but a friend of mine went, and he commented about how he noticed these 8 and 10-year-old kids dancing and enjoying his music.  Pretty cool when you write something that generation after generation gets. Awesome job, PAUL!

What’s a story about you your Mother always tells?

My mom was playing a thinner version of Santa Claus at our school when I was in grade school.  I pointed to her and said, “Are you my mom?”  I think I embarrassed her.  She was a mom playing Santa, you know.

And she had favorite sayings that she used to say and post on the medicine cabinet mirror. Like, “If you act like a doormat, people will walk on you.”  ”You can draw more flies with honey than you can vinegar.”  ”To have a friend, you have to be a friend”…

We’re going Actors Studio style now – rapid fire!!!!!!

What is your favorite word?

Words: Thank You.

What is your least favorite word?

Me this, me that, me-ism’s.

What turns you on (creatively/spiritually/inspiration)?

Early mornings are awesome and most inspirational for me, and my favorite time to write. Usually start my day off with a lap around a rosary for my family and friends.

What turns you off?

Big egos.

What is your favorite curse word?

Son of A Bitch.  (Since The Raven In Bermuda Shorts is a PG novel, I thought I’d start with SOB, but actually it’s tied for first place with about 6 million other ones)

What sound or noise do you love?

The sound of my wife’s and my stepson John’s laughs.  The crack of a baseball coming off of a wooden bat. The “I Love You’s” from my kids.  The sound of my 401(k)s coming back.

What sound or noise do you hate?

Screeching feedback noise of a P.A. speaker system.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Any position at Kansas City’s Boulevard Brewery, or musician/entertainer.

What profession would you not like to do?

President! The plane would be cool and all, but the rest, no thanks.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God save when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

No, no, no, you weren’t hypocritical, really. Now, go on in and join your family and friends.

See Ron Tweet. Be a fan of The Raven.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2010 by in regular.
