a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

This is how it feels…

Illustration by Rebekah Joy Plett, inspired by the topic at hand

Rebekah Joy Plett and I are in a blog convo now because I love the perspective she’s shared on this hot topic of distraction, procrastination and all-around avoidance we as artists suffer. Granted, everyone suffers or gives in to this, but what an amazing thing to wonder – why is it we so easily give in to, and sometimes welcome, distractions from the things that make us great?

She specifies she’s not referring to laundry or lawn mowing or dog poop pick uppering, but rather these creative things some part of us is compelled to do lest we go completely nutters. The beast inside that will either make us the greatest versions of ourselves or eat us alive if they can get a clear enough shot.

And is there any other cure to this artistic epidemic other than simply shutting up and doing rather than avoiding?

When I was young my mom took me to swim classes at the Burton Hollow swim club. I learned to swim but stayed the hell away from that slide. It wasn’t even one of the big ones. Just a small, normal backyard kind of slide with some water squirting down from the top so your bum didn’t chaff on the way down. I was terrified.

The swim instructor and my mom stood on either side of the slide urging me to just let go and go down into the pool (a good three and a half feet away). I wouldn’t. I was frozen. Finally the instructor looked me in the eye (probably wanting to get this over with so he could head out to Taco Bell or 7-Eleven with all the other teenage instructors) and said, “On 3 you are going to go!”

He started counting immediately, not giving me any time to either compute what he just said or come up with an excuse why he was just a dumb teenager and I wasn’t going to listen to him. On “3” I went…

…and it was AH-FRIGGIN-MAZING!

Through the years I’ve revisited this memory at times when I just needed to shut up, let go and allow life to take me where it’s going to.

How funny that we cower from the experiences and practices that will make us great. They’ll change us, of course. Greatly.

 

3 comments on “This is how it feels…

  1. Michelle B
    October 7, 2010

    Kate, how right you are. In fact, at this very moment I am avoiding a bit of work for our beloved agent because it’s HARD. So I’ve come up with a plan: if you will write my synopsis for ROTPGP, I will overnite ship you that Curly plate. Well, I can’t do that since my mother gave it to me… okay, I will have my husband croon every last Curly song on ichat (you can hear him sing on my website–he’s sung Curly professionally) and we’ll call it a deal.

    RJP, LOVE the pic. You blow my mind…what’s left of it.

  2. Kate Grace
    October 8, 2010

    Michelle… this made me laugh out loud! Isn’t fun how you think you’re done writing, then you think you’re done querying, and THEN they surprise you with the marketing proposal you have to write?!

    So I can’t have the plate, but I can hear your husband sing (which is already on your web site)…

    …so what’s in it for me exactly?

    You crack me up!

    • Michelle B
      October 8, 2010

      Kate, there’s nothing much in it for you NOW, but should my book become a bestseller (WonderAgent has made me no promises, mind) but SHOULD it make me rich and famous, I will buy you front row tickets to see Oklahoma! outdoors on location in Catoosa. They have live horses and saloon girls. That’s the best I can do for now.

      But seriously, I just read an article today that called “Synopses Aren’t for Sissies.” So I guess I’ll put my big girl panties on and write the thang.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
