a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

An exercise in gratitude:

I am grateful for…

…luck that changes on a dime.

…the people in my life that keep me on task, whether it’s my Mom popping her head in while I’m on the phone to say, “Shouldn’t you be writing?” or friends who end Facebook messages with, “Now go write.”

…the wine selection at Trader Joe’s.

…a sympathetic student loan representative.

…perspective.

…resources that appear at the exact time I need them.

…mail that isn’t from someone trying to collect a debt.

…second chances.

…my nieces who unintentionally remind me that evolution happens and as a result they will not only be smarter than me very soon, but taller than me too.

…third chances.

…this part of me I have been gifted with that rallies and becomes more determined when knocked down, when quitting is the easier option.

…somehow being able to kick the habit of sucking my thumb before I did too much damage to my teeth.

…advancements in dentistry that will be able to fix the damage that was done.

…fly swatters and paper towel.

…cowboy boots.

…the chance to do what I love, and for the courage (either sincere or feigned… that’s anyone’s guess) to go after it.

4 comments on “An exercise in gratitude:

  1. Lisa
    October 9, 2010

    What a wonderful feel-good start to my day! Thanks, Kate, for reminding me to be grateful today.
    ~ Lisa

  2. Michelle B
    October 9, 2010

    Great post, Kate! I, too, am thankful for people (husband in my case) who get on my case if I’m not writing, and corrective dental devices (sucked my bottom lip until I was 12–had all manner of contraptions and finally braces to fix my Bugs Bunny teeth.)

    Thanks for the reminder!

  3. ketch1714
    October 11, 2010

    Wonderful post, Kate!

  4. Bree Ogden
    October 16, 2010

    I really really love this post. I’ve read it like 5 times.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
