a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

20 Days of Thanks – Day 4

Bocce Iced Teas… oh yeah, Day 4 goes to the finest cocktails in the world. But before you whip out your standard booze-related jabs, hear me out. For nearly ten years I lived out of state and moved around, often in school or working mid-level (but entry-level pay scale) jobs that didn’t allow me to visit family as often as I would have liked. The low hit roughly two years ago when I wasn’t able to fly home for Christmas and instead spent the day alone in my NYC apartment watching the “A Christmas Story” Marathon.

While living away for so long, I kept in contact with my Mom almost daily through email and phone. And although wonderful, it was never the same as singing “Rain on My Parade” from Funny Girl together at the top of our lungs or sitting down to dinner across the table from one another.

A year ago I made the decision to move home to Michigan and I couldn’t be happier with the choice. Being around all of my family again is incredible – falling into routines and habits of visiting and being active parts of each others’ lives. Around the time I moved back my Mom introduced me to her favorite cocktail: The Bocce Iced Tea at East Side Mario’s. Essentially a Long Island Ice Tea with Amaretto and served in a super quirky ball-shaped glass.

Having dinner at East Side and enjoying a Bocce has become a once-a-week thing for us. If it’s been a bad day, either she or I will call the other and say, “I think it’s a Bocce day.” If it’s been a good day or there’s something to celebrate, the same will occur just with a little more bounce in our voice.

Being able to spend this time laughing and chatting with my mom on a weekly basis is sensational. Talking about our weeks, filling each other in on what’s going on in our lives, and enjoying the sweet goodness of a Bocce Iced Tea!

3 comments on “20 Days of Thanks – Day 4

  1. ketch1714
    November 9, 2010

    Sounds like wonderful times, Kate. 🙂

  2. Bree Ogden
    November 9, 2010

    Those glasses make me smile.

  3. Kate Grace
    November 9, 2010

    Don’t you love them?!?! My Mom was obsessed with them so one Mother’s Day my little brother went into the restaurant and convinced a bartender to sell him a set of four.

    When it’s a particularly bad week we bypass the restaurant and just make them at home. We call those “pitcher weeks”. When “only a glass” just won’t do!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
