a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Top 10 of 2010

Each year around the first of the year I make two lists. One list is the top 10 best moments of the previous year, and the other is the top 10 worst moments of the previous year. Having this collection of ups and downs of the past 15 or so years has been fantastic (and hilarious at times).

The top 10 worst list is a way to acknowledge and let go… to start the new year with a clean slate. The top 10 best moments serves as a great way to carry the best moments with me. So here, for your reading pleasure, are my top 10 BEST moments of 2010.

1. The Arizona Bachellers move to Michigan

In the fall, my older brother (Dean) along with his wife (Gina) and his two girls (Avery and Addison) moved back to Michigan after living in Arizona for years. For those familiar with my blog, Avery and Addison need no introduction. But having Dean and Gina, two of my best friends, back where I live has been an amazing gift. I get to stop by their house and have dinner during the week. Impromptu Euchre tournies are a regular happening. And the close proximity allows us to make fun of Dean more often for trying to turn his back yard into an ice rink with a garden hose.

Also, helping them unpack and finding the glass butter container that had been taped shut with the butter still inside at the bottom of a box filled with nice dishes. As I mentioned before, the truck that held the box that contained the butter dish that housed the butter traveled through Arizona… the desert… in August. It was probably one of the funniest moments of 2010!

 

2. The Dream Job

It’s one of a few, but finally I have a job that I enjoy going to after years of dreading the office or work. Being plucked out of unemployment and dropped into work I adore with people I enjoy being around each day is far more luck than I thought was possible. I never stop being grateful.

 

3. The Vulcan Hipsters

After auditioning for the Launch Groups (House Teams) at Go Comedy Improv Theater in Ferndale, Michigan, I was lucky enough to not only make a team but ALSO be placed with a group of pretty rad people. I’ve had a ton of great moments with these guys this past year. Moments that included licking one another, pretending to be ghost grandparents or vampires, performing “Titanic 2: Tokyo Drift” (The sequel that should have been).

 

4. Avery and Addison

Because they deserve their own listing. I’ve had such a blast with these girls when they visited in the summer and thankfully moved back in the fall. I got to take them sledding for the first time ever and have cracked up continually at the marvelously hilarious things that come out of their mouths. A couple years ago, when I wanted to write a book but the thought was too overwhelming, I started by writing scenes with Avery and Addison. From there the writing grew until finally the thought of writing a book was no longer terrifying. These two are my muses!

 

5. The BreePod

It’s lucky enough to land yourself a literary agent, but it’s straight up Christmas in July when your agent’s client list turns out to be a grouping of amazingly talented and fantastically supportive writers/creatives. Though it’s a client list, it’s also a bit of a cooperative. I’ve reached out for help at times and found others ready and willing. And the favor is repaid as often as I’m allowed. It’s rare, and I don’t take it for granted. A full list of people who are as invested in your own success and creative happiness as their own. It’s an amazing gift.

 

6. The Unicorn

This will have to be a bit cryptic for now. Sorry, but it might (hopefully) make a far more clarified appearance on the 2011 list. Fingers crossed!

 

7. July 4, 2010

The day Bree Ogden entered my life. The day I was offered representation by Bree Ogden as my literary agent. The day I stopped watching the Star Wars marathon on Spike TV to listen to a voice mail and then jump up and down for hours straight.

 

8. Burden, in general

There’s been a lot of moments this past year that I’ve shared with my book. Rewrites, edits, submission. querying, inspiration, feedback, rejection, acceptance, blah blah blah. I feel like the book and I have gone through the trenches, as if I’ve stored its favored pocket watch up my backside to transfer safely to its next of kin. Long nights, long weeks, long months. A lot of them the best of the year.

 

9. Meet me in St. Louis

I got to visit St. Louis for the first time and meet Bree along with some fantastic other people. It was also the same weekend I won a free beer which RULED! I never win anything!

 

10. No more 2009!

Those who know me know that the few years proceeding 2010 were pretty horrible. One thing about these lists is that they remind me that it always balances out, both good and bad. One month may suck, but another may be great and in the end they all balance out the year. Well… I had a few years that were negative heavy and therefore lopsided. There was a layoff. There was a hospital stay. There was dead end jobs and unhappiness. There was no money and lots of bills. I felt powerless. I felt sick. I felt alone. The end of 2009 ushered this imbalance out and served as sort of a resting period. I was able to relax, gather strength and refocus myself on what I want.

I look forward now to the next years that come knowing that, just like the lists for a year, things will balance. There were terrible years, but there will be great years as well. And these years that I’ve survived will remind me to savor each moment and be grateful for each blessing. Hunger is the greatest spice, and these years to come will be enjoyed all that much more after years spent starving for some positivity.

 

What were some of the best moments of 2010 for you? Tell me in the comments section.

6 comments on “Top 10 of 2010

  1. Lisa
    January 2, 2011

    Kate, thanks so much for sharing the highlights of your year (just reading it put me in a more positive frame of mind!). I have no doubt that 2011 will be amazing for you.

    • Kate Grace
      January 2, 2011

      Thanks, Lisa! And for you as well. What are some of your best moments of 2010? I love starting the year out on a positive step.

      • Lisa
        January 2, 2011

        Thank you! Last year had some memorable best moments professionally–joining the Breepod, for sure (as, I think, its inaugural member!), as well as the publication of two books, and deciding to go back to graduate school. I am heading into 2011 with positive energy and an intention to be a bit less scattered and more focused. 🙂

  2. D.M. Cunningham
    January 2, 2011

    Being a part of the Breepod is absolutely one of the best things to happen in 2010 for me as well. It makes a short list of great happenings. Meeting you via the web has been a great pleasure. I look forward to the day we meet in person. Avery and Addison have been a highlight to the year. They rock!

    • Kate Grace
      January 2, 2011

      Thank you, DM! It truly is a privilege to count you among my colleagues and friends. I’m thinking “BreePod Convention ’11”!

      How rad would that be?!?!

  3. Bree Ogden
    January 3, 2011

    YEEEA! We share a lot of the best moment of 2010! And I still think it is HI-larious that we were both watching the same Spike Marathon on the 4th.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
