a bit of grace

The random musings of Kate Grace

Getting dirty to save kids!

This summer I’ll be participating in The Warrior Dash here in Michigan, and for those who are unfamiliar… there will be mud, there will be obstacles, there will be fire, and there will undoubtedly be my older brother tripping me up in the mud like older brothers do!

It’ll be brutal, but I’m doing it for two reasons:

1. In an effort to balance out taking care of mind and body (writers, admit it… we often overlook balancing the body when an evening spent with a good book and glass of wine is an option), I’ve kicked up my fitness goals recently in ways that include a juice detox, trying to run with Maddie and registering for events with people so I can’t back out, and doing it for causes I am unwilling to let down. But more on all of that later.

2. Emma Grace, the St. Jude Patient of the Month for April. Five years old, radiant and already a cancer survivor thanks to the warriors of St. Jude Children’s Hospital. She wants to be a ballerina. Learn more about her story by watching this video or by visiting her page on St. Jude’s site.

St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital will not turn a family away and they will not rest until the survival rate of children with cancer is 100%. They are warriors, so I can be too.

Help me support St. Jude by donating through my fundraising page on St. Jude’s site. Every little bit counts! And hopefully this inspired you to go even further and find out more about the work they do or find out ways you can fundraise for them too!

One comment on “Getting dirty to save kids!

  1. Lori
    April 19, 2012

    My son did the warrior dash in Tulsa, he loved it and said it was a lot of fun. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
